Local Universe // Buildings continued

After Tuesday’s field drawing session drawing buildings I still needed some more drawings and photos and I wanted to explore more of the boundary we were given. Seeing as I had dissertation class that afternoon I took to the streets in the morning and walked from Tower Hill station and up to the St Botolph’s without Aldgate, drawing at Mary Jane’s on the way.

I kept going even though it was quite cold and windy outside but that aside I really enjoyed drawing outside and got into the flow of quick, loose drawings.

I walked around the area of Petticoat Lane down the back streets where I hadn’t been before and the highlight of my trip was finding this lovely old building, a soup kitchen for the Jewish poor built in 1902. The building was of the style of the era but it was elaborate and beautiful. Just as I was drawing some of the details of the drawing a tour group came up and started talking about the building. It was interesting hearing about how the Jewish poor used to make up children in order to get more soup and more rations.

 

I drew a few other buildings other than these and it wasn’t long before I had to go to class but I was really glad I gave the time to go out and do more of it. I think I will do more of this even just in my personal sketchbook.

**Will be back later to update with photos of my drawings!**

Leave a Reply

