Inspiration // London Sketchbook: A City Observed

This is a book I saw once in the shop at Kew Gardens a while ago and it made me think of the Buildings brief we had at the beginning of the term and then for christmas my parents bought me the book because of how much I loved it when I saw it. It’s a collection with watercolour illustrations of London by Graham Byfield with text by Marcus Binney.

Watercolour is one of my favourite mediums and so I fell in love with these detailed illustrations of the many buildings and landscapes of London even just the little details of a door or a plaque on a wall each has been drawn and pained carefully and has such a lovely quality that really portrays the history of London. I like the combination of illustration and text in the informal medium of pencil, it makes them really look like observations taken on the spot right outside the buildings themselves. Even the paper is a lovely thick watercolour or cartridge paper so it feels like the artists personal sketchbook of observations

 

 

Leave a Reply

